Trying to get back to sewing

As many of you know my sister is busy making plushies, mainly anime characters.  To be honest, I was the first one who got interested in sewing and making plushies but don’t get me wrong I am so happy for her and I admire her work.  I don’t intend to be her rival in any way, I could never do what she does–all those little details are sure to drive me crazy.

A few years ago I made a felt doll from a free pattern but I never finished it.  The poor doll is sitting in a drawer without clothes, hair or face.  Fast forward to 2015 while I was looking through eBay in search for sewing patterns for my sister, I found this 7 inch doll pattern which it is a simple one. This pattern is a two-piece gingerbread man-like doll, meaning it is flat unlike the ones my sister makes.  I told my sister about it and being awesome as she is, she told me to buy it to see if it was something that I would like to do or not.

My sister ironed, cut and laminated the pattern; she even gave me the fabric and the little mesh thing for the hair, so, I went to my craft room and begun sewing my little doll.  One thing I was sure of, it was that I didn’t want to leave the doll unfinished like the other one. For the moment the dolls are barefoot until I can figure out a way to make shoes. So, I needed a character who didn’t need/wear any shoes; then, I remembered that Jack Frost from the Rise of the Guardians movie has no shoes and I like the character which it was a win-win.

I don’t really know how I made his hoodie; I don’t have a pattern for it.  The pants I followed what my sister told me, just to follow the part of the pattern for his legs add a little more on the side and done!  Now that I think about it, it would have been easier to do that for the hoodie too. Once the clothes were done I dressed up my tiny new doll. I struggled a little bit since the doll was already stuffed but I didn’t want the seams to be on the outside.  Then, I glued the light brown thread on his legs for which I used embroidery floss.

To be honest, I am so happy with my first finished doll.  I am even thinking of making another doll from the same pattern but this time I want to make a little girl.  Hopefully I won’t be bitten by the lazy bug AGAIN [who seems to have made its home inside my room] and leave her mid-way.–

MekkaJack found someone who made him feel at home.

There is a spot open for another Jack!

It looks like somebody is planning something wicked for the new members, and it is not Naruto. 

 

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Dolls, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

