Wreck it Ralph – Vanellope Costume

I know that Halloween was last week but it is until now that my room is getting back to normal.  I don’t really celebrate Halloween by going trick or treating or dressing up, I’m in costume all year-long; but I’m still part of the celebration by making costumes and eating my nephew and niece’s candy.

This time I was asked to make Vanellope von Schweetz from the movie Wreck it Ralph.  I want to try to make it as accurate as the design as possible but sometimes I have to settle with close-enough colors and alter them to make it wearable, like inserting a zippers here and there.

In her description it says that she wears a double-layered skirt, resembling a peanut butter cup wrapper; I went online to look for tutorials in how to achieve that look but because I didn’t follow her instructions 100% I had to improvise.  For her hoodie I used fleece, the weather is getting colder and we don’t want her to get sick.  I had to dye her tights, I used  turquoise dye but once I washed them they got lighter, but it goes well with the hoodie.  Although, I started with white tights I had to paint the white parts and then add the purple stripes.  Her wig was made out of yarn, and the candy was made of polymer clay, the hair tie was a braided red parachute cord as well as the hoodie’s stitches.

I was told that she didn’t wanted to take off her outfit and that is what makes it worth it.

Mekka

 

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Commissions, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wreck it Ralph – Vanellope Costume

  1. taylorfamilyurbanfarm says:

    Aww I love this! I love that character!

Leave a Reply

