EVOLUTION OF HAIR

I’ve been working on my first anime commission and my second DA commission.  This is the first time I’m making a male anime character and I just found out that yarn hair didn’t look good for anime characters because of their stylized designs.  Felt hair takes quite a skill to make, so, I just couldn’t make it that way.  The commissioner was quite happy with the original look of the hair but I wasn’t. Since she has been an amazing person/commissioner I wanted to do my best in capturing the character’s looks. So, I began watching and reading tutorials about a brush technique that my sister told me about and that I saw on some amigurumi dolls.  My sis have been helping me a lot straightening the hair and giving the doll a haircut.

This is a large doll [19-20 inches] which means there was a lot of yarn to untwist.  It was a tedious job and there was a lot of experimenting but I believe it was worth the time and effort.

There is still a lot that I need to learn and improve but the hair looks much better than the plain yarn hair it had before.–

EkkE

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Dolls and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

