Pillowcase From a T-shirt

This was my first sewing project in months, also it was my first time making a pillowcase/cover.

I was looking for a gift to give to my little niece but I didn’t know what, I only knew it had to be something with the Despicable Me Minions.  I remembered she got her own bed not long ago; that is when I decided to make her a pillowcase. First I thought to crochet the pillowcase like a minion, then to hand paint a pillowcase, but at the end I decided to buy an already printed t-shirt and turn it into a pillowcase because I didn’t have enough time to try things out.

Although it was going to be a decorative pillow I wanted it to be easy to wash, that is why I couldn’t sew it shut and I didn’t want the pillowcase to have buttons or a zipper, snaps would have been fast and easy to put on but the t-shirt was made of tissue jersey fabric and it would have ripped.  At the end I thought it was best if it was an envelope-backed pillowcase/cover.

I bought a 12″ x 16″ pillow and a XL men’s shirt, I grabbed the pillow first then I went to look for the t-shirt.  I quickly measured the printed part of the t-shirt on the pillow to see if the design fit on the pillow.

I got home, ate breakfast and started to work on it. I know it doesn’t take much time to make it but I wanted the two seams to look the same so I use the bottom, front and back of the t-shirt  for the back of the pillowcase, so at the end it was three pieces to sew.

Mekka

Front

Back

Later, I decided to sew the Despicable Me printed piece on the back.  I had to sew it by hand because my machine started to eat the thread.

New back

Detail

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

