Despicable Me – Take 2

Well, I just finished with another commission.

I was asked to make another Agnes and another minion. This time it was Stuart’s time to shine as a little girl.  I’m afraid Stuart’s dress is not accurate because his dress had more polka dots than the ones I put on the dress.   My first choice was to make the dress using fabric but I couldn’t find any polka dot fabric of the right color.  Therefore, I crocheted the dress and  hand sew the dots on it.  The first idea was  to glue felt dots on the dress because it would have been easier but the glue didn’t take.  That’s why  I had to do it the hard way. Since I was going to sew every single dot I chose to make the dots bigger, so I would have fewer dots to sew. Also, smaller dots could have resulted in the thread ripping through the felt.  Last but not least, for the flower shaped buttons on the straps I used felt buttons, which came in three different sizes and colors. The hair was quite tricky to make because it had this weird look.  It looks like it doesn’t have a beginning or an end, it just go around. Of course as a digital image they can get away with designs like this  but trying to do that kind of hair on a plush/doll and make it look close to the original design wasn’t easy. After thinking and thinking how to make it, I got an idea and it worked or at least I’m happy how it turned out.

Mekka

Agnes

Stuart

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Crochet, Dolls and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Despicable Me – Take 2

  1. Lovely work! They both look great!
    I can’t imagine how so much precision on details can be created only by crochet, you’re very talented!

Leave a Reply

