Shoulder Bag—Handmade

Last Friday, my sister and I went to the “One OK Rock” concert [WHICH IT WAS AWESOME!!]. My sister gave me the ticket for the concert as a gift, so, to say thanks for the awesome gift I made a shoulder bag for her.

I wanted to give a bag to my sister but I couldn’t find any bag that I like at the store, so, I decided to make her a one of a kind bag  using only materials that I had at home.  I knew since the beginning that I wanted to make a punk-rock-ish shoulder bag for her.  So, I used a plaid fabric that I bought a few months ago to make a coat.  Although I was excited about making a bag for her I was a bit unsure about the whole thing because I knew the bag might not last long since it was going to be sewn with a home sewing machine and using fabric that I had at home. As long as the bag is of her liking I would be very happy.

I used some black cotton twill for the pouches on front and on the flap and lined them with polyester lining.  I added some jean rivets on the pouch on the flap because I like shiny metal things. They make things look expensive and rug-ish.  I always have trouble finding silver jeans zippers, they usually come in brass but I had some zippers that my sister and I saved from clothes that we no longer used and I thought it was the perfect opportunity to use them.

Deciding what type of interfacing to use for bags is the most difficult thing for me because I don’t know anything about it.  I didn’t want to trouble myself with all that, so, I used what I had available which was a lightweight pellon interfacing.  I don’t know if it will do any good but that is better than nothing. I read that some people used fusible fleece or sew-in hair canvas but that is a bit too expensive for me.  I’ve seen bags at the stores that are not stiff at all, so, I’m not expert I told myself and continue making the bag with whatever I found. At the end I think it depends on each person if they want the bag to be stiff or soft. This bag has a soft body but the cardboard on the bottom helps to give it some shape.

This is the finished bag, I think it looks good considering the materials used and the fact I don’t have much experience. The good news is that my sister liked it and she took it to the concert.

EkkE.

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Handmade, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shoulder Bag—Handmade

  1. Santa says:

    Such a thoughtful gift! Looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

