La Calavera Catrina–Cloth Art Doll

This is “La Calavera Catrina” the last of the doll commissions requested last month.  When I was asked to make this doll I thought “Catrina” was just a name.  As I researched about this iconic figure in Mexican Culture I found out it was more than just an icon of the Mexican Dia de los Muertos [Day of the Dead].  What amazes me is how much I can learn from each commission.  Anyway, “catrina” is a term used to describe an elegant female person.  In this case it describes an elegant female skeleton– which was meant to portray a satirization of those Mexican natives who, the creator felt, were over embracing European traditions of the aristocracy in the pre-revolutionary era [taken from wikipedia].

I have to say that I barely finished on time.  In fact, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to make it because I don’t have a still hand to do all the face painting. Also I was going to need a different pattern than the one I had.  The doll was due Saturday and I had to make some last-minute changes.  First was the head because the first one I made didn’t look the way I want it. Then it was the dress, the first time I tried it on the doll  fit but, after I added the lace on top it became too tight [I don’t know why]. Then the hair and so on and so on, at the end I didn’t go to bed until 5:00 a.m of Saturday.

It was quite a challenge to make this doll but it pushed me into learning more about making dolls.  Now, that I’ve tried this new pattern I will make another cloth doll as practice.  Before I forget I want to thank my sister for making that awesome hair piece. She made the flowers using felt. I knew it was the right decision to ask for her help. Although, she doesn’t admit it, she is really crafty. I was given a reference picture for the face painting which saved me the trouble to come up with a design of my own.  Although the original “Catrina” design is wearing an European attire and a hat, the commissioner requested to be dressed wearing a Mexican outfit. I kept the outfit simple because I didn’t want to over do it and cross the line to stereotype.

I’m happy how it turned out and it makes me even happier that it was my first art doll.

EkkE

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Commissions, Dolls, Handmade, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to La Calavera Catrina–Cloth Art Doll

Leave a Reply

