Rag Dolls—Little Pieces of the Past

With so many popular dolls on the market like Bratz, Monster High, Barbie, Blythe, American girl, and Lalaloopsy, who would be interested in rag dolls these days?

I have to admit that I like many of those fashion dolls but for some reason I’m still very fond of rag dolls. It might be the innocence that rag dolls portray and how they remind me of the days when little girls dressed up as little girls, that make me have a special place for them.   Time keeps changing and so it’s the way we dress our little girls and boys.  To me rag dolls had become little pieces of the past; which is the reason I became interested in making them.

I wanted to make a traditional rag doll but my interest in anime plushies pushed me into giving the doll some anime features [eyes, expression, and hair] instead of buttons or embroidered features.

As you can see I dressed the little rag doll  with a light blue dress, a plaid pink /white/light blue pinafore, white socks and black shoes. Everything was handmade, hand and machine sewn.  All her clothes are removable; which was one of the reasons why I wanted to make my own rag dolls.  I wanted to make the clothes removable to have more options to dress her up.

I gave her curled brown hair but the curls are not permanent.   I thought it would be fun to have the option to change her hairdo, so, I decided not to make the curls permanent.   To avoid too many bald spots I made a hair cap using polyester mesh and saw it onto the doll’s head.  Then using a crochet hook, I pulled lengths of crochet thread through the cap and tied it together to secure it in place and form the hair.  Although, there is a chance the hair will fall out after playing with it too much the good news is that it can be replaced by adding a new thread.

For the eyes I hand painted big brown anime eyes.   The big eyes make her look like an anime plushie except for the materials used to make the doll.  I’m not sure if I should call it a rag doll or a plushie but what I do know is that I like it very much.  What makes me even happier is to bring back a little piece of the past.

EkkE

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Daily life, DIY projects, Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rag Dolls—Little Pieces of the Past

  1. bridgetscrafts25 says:

    Your little “Rag Dolls” are adorable! I can tell that they are made with love and caring. I happen to love the big anime eyes it makes them look so innocent! Really nice work, keep it up!
    Please stop by my blog I’ve just made a post involving “Gumballs” they’re a great decorating component!

    • foolishlife says:

      Thank you so much. I love making them but I’m afraid I might run out of space. Each one of them is very dear to me, it is sad when I have to say goodbye.

Leave a Reply

