Is talent needed to follow your passion?

I’m sure having talent would make things easier for some of us to do a certain activity. However, not everyone possesses the skill or talent to write, draw, sew, dance, etc. Some of us have only the love and passion to do all that. I like doing a bit of everything but I have to admit that I don’t have the talent, skill, proper education and knowledge to do what I do. I know the product of my writing ,drawing, sewing and photography comes out with some flaws and mistakes. Of course, I wish I could be more skilled on those subjects, yet, that doesn’t mean I do not enjoy doing it. Sometimes and for some reason to other people not being skilled or talent on a specific field, it is quite unacceptable, especially if what you do is going to be displayed on a public site or place.

Maybe I have been unfortunate to visit sites where some of the comments left have been less than pleasant. It seems to me that some people expect too much perfection and cannot see what the person/ creator/ artist/writer really wants to share. Of course, we all have freedom of speech and speaking our mind is one of our rights. Nonetheless, it makes me wonder if anyone should be discouraged or mocked only because he/she doesn’t have the talent of skill to do certain things?

Personally, those comments make me feel like if I don’t have what it takes to share a decent work, I shouldn’t even try. That is why I ask myself: Is talent needed to follow my passion? I do understand that in some subjects like writing it is important to follow some basic rules to keep the writing clear for the readers. Unfortunately not all of us [like me] can keep up with those simple rules. I’m aware that I write a broken English, my grammar and punctuation are not on the level of a person my age, and not being able to follow those simple rules can make my writing a bit confusing. The funny thing is I cannot stop writing. I always find myself writing anywhere, on the computer, on a piece of paper, on napkins, on the palm of my hand, on my sleeves, pretty much on everything the ink of a pen can be used. Whether I’m talented or not, every time I get an idea I have to write it down. I might not have the talent to be a writer but sure I have the passion to do it. XP

Of course, this is not only about me and my writing, it is about anyone and anything. Every time I hear or read a negative comment on someone else’s work it makes me wonder if we should be forbidden from doing something merely because we don’t have any talent at all? Many times I’ve being discouraged to keep on writing but when I think about it, I know I’m not doing it to make a living or pretend to be a pro, I’m doing it because of the love I have for it.

I started this blog talking about this because this is one of the endless things that steal my sleep away. I just cannot understand why we are not allow [somehow] to do something just because we love doing it. I hope I don’t sound as if I’m trying to excuse myself for my poor writing skills. That is not my intention at all. I believe blogging is about writing down your ideas, thoughts, feelings, opinions or sharing with others what you know, what you do, what you like, right? So, this blog is to share my opinions and feelings on this matter.

In my humble opinion I believe not having talent shouldn’t be a reason to stop us from doing what we love. If we have the time and the passion to do something, why not?

“Other people do not determine your potential.”–Joel Osteen.

Jaa.

EkkE =^..^=

About foolishlife

Words cannot describe what we are. We are a little bit complicated to explain. All we can say about ourselves is that we live a foolish life. EkkE-Mekka, we are sister and Ed is our little nephew. The three of us are always finding new ways to pass the time. We cosplay, write, sew, draw, do crafts, chase the ice cream man and a whole lot of other things. So, we hope you enjoy reading about our silly adventures.
This entry was posted in Daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

